Headlines

Palmer & you

Hear_Palmer_2012_Belmondo

Hear Palmer 2012

By Lionel Belmondo Trio
Every spring, the new assemblage of Château Palmer and Alter Ego gives rise to an event: Hear Palmer, an interpretation of the current vintage, in the barrel cellar, by renowned jazz artists.

In 2013, the saxophonist Lionel Belmondo, the bassist Sylvain Romano and the percussionist Jean-Pierre Arnaud together interpreted the new vintage of Château Palmer and Alter Ego 2012. For the first time, the concert was held in the great chai des Jasmins barrel cellar.

Hear_Palmer_2012_Belmondo

Lionel BelmondoPrince of saxophone. A love of jazz has animated Lionel Belmondo since his childhood in Provence. Trained alongside his brother by their father, then director of the Souliès-Toucas music school, Lionel shows himself to have an aptitude for precision, passion and incessant creativity. Adopting the soprano saxophone, Lionel forms the Quintet Belmondo with his brother and records their first album in 1993. Lionel Belmondo never stops. Will he set down his sax to taste Château Palmer?

Sylvain RomanoBassist in good company. This bassist from Marseille has all the diplomas and  medals needed, for both classical and jazz double bass,  from the Marseille Conservatory to the Ateliers de jazz  at the Cité de la Musique, which give him complete liberty  to play the jazz that he loves, with great people. The Belmondo brothers include him in most of their numerous and various projects.

Jean-Pierre ArnaudPowerful drummer. Jean-Pierre Arnaud studied classical percussion at the Marseille Conservatory between 1977 and 1980. His father's jazz club becomes his own personal classroom where he comes in contact with all the greats, Kenny Clarke, Max Roach, Art Blakey … A jazzman’s dream. With the Belmondo brothers, he records Belmondo Quintet and For all friends.

Hear_Palmer_2012_Belmondo
Events
HEAR PALMER 2012
By Lionel Belmondo Trio

The photographer Nicolas Joubard (http://www.joubard.com/) covered Hear Palmer’s 2012 edition. A selection of his photos is on view in our Pinterest photo library, via the link below.

close

The photographer Nicolas Joubard (http://www.joubard.com/) covered Hear Palmer’s 2012 edition. A selection of his photos is on view in our Pinterest photo library, via the link below.

Hear_Palmer_2012_Belmondo
Events
HEAR PALMER 2012
By Lionel Belmondo Trio

The photographer Nicolas Joubard (http://www.joubard.com/) covered Hear Palmer’s 2012 edition. A selection of his photos is on view in our Pinterest photo library, via the link below.

close

The photographer Nicolas Joubard (http://www.joubard.com/) covered Hear Palmer’s 2012 edition. A selection of his photos is on view in our Pinterest photo library, via the link below.

Hear_Palmer_2012_Belmondo
Events
HEAR PALMER 2012
By Lionel Belmondo Trio

The photographer Nicolas Joubard (http://www.joubard.com/) covered Hear Palmer’s 2012 edition. A selection of his photos is on view in our Pinterest photo library, via the link below.

close

The photographer Nicolas Joubard (http://www.joubard.com/) covered Hear Palmer’s 2012 edition. A selection of his photos is on view in our Pinterest photo library, via the link below.

“I remember well our visit of the Palmer estate, led so brilliantly by Thomas, who recounted the entire history, but also the specific ways that the vineyard life is optimized, and so many other particularities about the place. I remember all the sublime blends we tasted, but also the base wines from single grape varieties; in particular, I was really struck by the strength and rusticity of the Petit Verdot. And of course, I’ll always remember the concert, for its absolutely magical atmosphere – that was the source of our inspiration. Though it may be that a lot was owed to the “angels’ share” emanating from the barrels all around us!”

Sylvain Romano, bassist
Download the press review:

À la une

Palmer & vous

Hear_Palmer_2012_Belmondo

HEAR PALMER 2012

Par Lionel Belmondo Trio
Chaque printemps, le nouvel assemblage de Château Palmer et Alter Ego donne lieu à un événement : Hear Palmer. Ou l’interprétation, au chai, du millésime du moment par des jazzmen de renom.

En 2013, le saxophoniste Lionel Belmondo, le contrebassiste Sylvain Romano et le batteur Jean-Pierre Arnaud ont interprétés le nouveau millésime, Château Palmer et Alter Ego 2012. Le concert s’est déroulé pour la première fois dans le grand chai des Jasmins.

Hear_Palmer_2012_Belmondo

Lionel BelmondoPrince du saxophone. Lionel Belmondo est animé par la flamme du jazz depuis sa petite enfance provençale. Formé avec son frère Stéphane par un père directeur de l’école de musique de Souliès-Toucas, Lionel se révèle une flèche de rigueur, de passion,  de créativité incessante. Adoptant le saxophone soprano, Lionel forme le Quintet Belmondo avec son frère et enregistre  son premier album en 1993. Lionel Belmondo n’arrête jamais. Posera-t-il son sax pour déguster Château Palmer ?

Sylvain RomanoContrebassiste bien entouré. Ce contrebassiste marseillais a tous les diplômes et les médailles qu’il faut, de contrebasse classique et jazz, du conservatoire de Marseille aux Ateliers de jazz de la Cité de la Musique, ce qui lui donne une complète liberté pour jouer le jazz qu’il aime, avec des gens formidables. Les frères Belmondo l’incluent dans la plupart de leurs projets, nombreux et variés.

 

Jean-Pierre ArnaudBatteur percutant. Jean-Pierre Arnaud suit des études de percussion classique au conservatoire de Marseille entre 1977 et 1980. Il fait ses classes sur le tas, dans le club de jazz de son père au contact des plus grands, Kenny Clarke, Max Roach, Art Blakey… Un rêve de jazzman. Avec les frères Belmondo, il enregistre Belmondo Quintet et For all friends.

Hear_Palmer_2012_Belmondo
Événements
HEAR PALMER 2012
Par Lionel Belmondo Trio

Le photographe Nicolas Joubard (http://www.joubard.com) a couvert l'édition de Hear Palmer 2012. La sélection de photos est à découvrir sur notre phototèque Pinterest disponible dans le lien ci-dessous.

fermer

Le photographe Nicolas Joubard (http://www.joubard.com) a couvert l'édition de Hear Palmer 2012. La sélection de photos est à découvrir sur notre phototèque Pinterest disponible dans le lien ci-dessous.

Hear_Palmer_2012_Belmondo
Événements
HEAR PALMER 2012
Par Lionel Belmondo Trio

Le photographe Nicolas Joubard (http://www.joubard.com) a couvert l'édition de Hear Palmer 2012. La sélection de photos est à découvrir sur notre phototèque Pinterest disponible dans le lien ci-dessous.

fermer

Le photographe Nicolas Joubard (http://www.joubard.com) a couvert l'édition de Hear Palmer 2012. La sélection de photos est à découvrir sur notre phototèque Pinterest disponible dans le lien ci-dessous.

Hear_Palmer_2012_Belmondo
Événements
HEAR PALMER 2012
Par Lionel Belmondo Trio

Le photographe Nicolas Joubard (http://www.joubard.com) a couvert l'édition de Hear Palmer 2012. La sélection de photos est à découvrir sur notre phototèque Pinterest disponible dans le lien ci-dessous.

fermer

Le photographe Nicolas Joubard (http://www.joubard.com) a couvert l'édition de Hear Palmer 2012. La sélection de photos est à découvrir sur notre phototèque Pinterest disponible dans le lien ci-dessous.

Téléchargez la revue de presse: