Headlines

Palmer & you

Hear_Palmer_2009_Jacky_Terrasson

HEAR PALMER 2009

By Jacky Terrasson
Every spring, the new assemblage of Château Palmer and Alter Ego gives rise to an event: Hear Palmer, an interpretation of the current vintage, in the barrel cellar, by renowned jazz artists.

Hear Palmer came about following a meeting between Jacky Terrasson, a famous French-American jazz pianist and Thomas Duroux, managing director of Château Palmer. There is a delicious dialogue of complexity and spontaneity between Château Palmer and jazz so creating Hear Palmer seemed an obvious outcome to both men. From their passion for both wine and jazz, the first Hear Palmer was organised in 2009, the first edition of an event that has become a key part of the Château Palmer calendar, where for the past seven years great jazz artists have taken to the stage.

Hear_Palmer_2009_Jacky_Terrasson

Jacky TerrassonThe pianist of happiness. Born in 1965 in Berlin to a French father and an American mother, and discovered in France alongside Barney Wilen in the 1980s, pianist Jacky Terasson's reputation grew when he went to New York in 1990 and made a name for himself on the American music scene. At that time he accompanied the famous Betty Carter, among other singers. However, it was the trio he formed with bassist Ugonna Okegwo and drummer Leon Parker that revealed him as a rising star of piano jazz, to which he gave a very percussive slant, full of dynamic contrasts, comparable to his elder, Ahmad Jamal.

Since his sensational arrival on the jazz scene in 1993 with the prestigious Thelonious Monk prize, the extraordinary pianist Jacky Terrasson has always recorded complex, refined music with a remarkable freedom of spirit. All of Jacky Terrasson's discs have followed a certain logic and each new release was always announced on the previous disc, revealing this musician's extraordinary consistency and mastery!

Hear_Palmer_2009_Jacky_Terrasson
Events
HEAR PALMER 2009
By Jacky Terrasson

For this inaugural edition of Hear Palmer, Alain Vacheron (http://alainvacheron.wixsite.com/foto/) captured the concert through his lens. His photos may be viewed on our Pinterest photo library, via the link below.

close

For this inaugural edition of Hear Palmer, Alain Vacheron (http://alainvacheron.wixsite.com/foto/) captured the concert through his lens. His photos may be viewed on our Pinterest photo library, via the link below.

Hear_Palmer_2009_Jacky_Terrasson
Events
HEAR PALMER 2009
By Jacky Terrasson

For this inaugural edition of Hear Palmer, Alain Vacheron (http://alainvacheron.wixsite.com/foto/) captured the concert through his lens. His photos may be viewed on our Pinterest photo library, via the link below.

close

For this inaugural edition of Hear Palmer, Alain Vacheron (http://alainvacheron.wixsite.com/foto/) captured the concert through his lens. His photos may be viewed on our Pinterest photo library, via the link below.

Hear_Palmer_2009_Jacky_Terrasson
Events
HEAR PALMER 2009
By Jacky Terrasson

For this inaugural edition of Hear Palmer, Alain Vacheron (http://alainvacheron.wixsite.com/foto/) captured the concert through his lens. His photos may be viewed on our Pinterest photo library, via the link below.

close

For this inaugural edition of Hear Palmer, Alain Vacheron (http://alainvacheron.wixsite.com/foto/) captured the concert through his lens. His photos may be viewed on our Pinterest photo library, via the link below.

“It was an honour and a great joy to start off this series of events in such a special and magical place, between vine plots and blues, vineyard strolls and grape varietals, musical climates and vintages. I vividly recall this surprising combination of a Château Palmer 1969 with a strawberry risotto!"

Jacky Terrasson

À la une

Palmer & vous

Hear_Palmer_2009_Jacky_Terrasson

HEAR PALMER 2009

Par Jacky Terrasson
Chaque printemps, le nouvel assemblage de Château Palmer et Alter Ego donne lieu à un événement : Hear Palmer. Ou l’interprétation, au chai, du millésime du moment par des jazzmen de renom.

Hear Palmer est né de la rencontre entre Jacky Terrasson, célèbre pianiste de jazz franco-américain, et Thomas Duroux, directeur général de Château Palmer. La mise en place de Hear Palmer résonnait comme une évidence aux oreilles des deux hommes, car entre Château Palmer et le jazz règne un savoureux dialogue fait de complexité et de spontanéité. De ce mélange d’une passion pour le vin et d’une autre pour le jazz, a donc été organisé Hear Palmer 2009, première édition d’un événement devenu incontournable pour Château Palmer.

Hear_Palmer_2009_Jacky_Terrasson

Jacky TerrassonPianiste du bonheur. Né en 1965 à Berlin de père français et de mère américaine, découvert en France aux côtés de Barney Wilen à la fin des années 80, le pianiste Jacky Terrasson voit sa notoriété s’accroître lorsqu’il intègre la scène américaine en s’installant à New York en 1990 : il y accompagne entre autres la chanteuse Betty Carter. Mais c’est le trio qu’il forme avec le bassiste Ugonna Okegwo et le batteur Léon Parker qui l’impose bientôt comme une valeur montante du piano jazz, qu’il traite de manière très percussive, riche en contrastes dynamiques, un peu à la manière de son aîné Ahmad Jamal.

Depuis son entrée fracassante sur la scène jazz en 1993 couronné du Prix Thelonious Monk, l’extraordinaire pianiste Jacky Terrasson a constamment enregistré une musique riche et raffinée avec une liberté d’esprit remarquable.
Dans tous les disques de Jacky Terrasson, une logique s’opère, et chaque nouveau disque est en fait toujours annoncé dans les précédents, preuve d’une très grande cohérence et maîtrise de l’artiste !

Hear_Palmer_2009_Jacky_Terrasson
Événements
HEAR PALMER 2009
Par Jacky Terrasson

Pour cette première édition de Hear Palmer, Alain Vacheron (http://alainvacheron.wixsite.com/foto) a réalisé les photos du concert. La sélection est à découvrir sur notre photothèque Pinterest en lien ci-dessous.

fermer

Pour cette première édition de Hear Palmer, Alain Vacheron (http://alainvacheron.wixsite.com/foto) a réalisé les photos du concert. La sélection est à découvrir sur notre photothèque Pinterest en lien ci-dessous.

Hear_Palmer_2009_Jacky_Terrasson
Événements
HEAR PALMER 2009
Par Jacky Terrasson

Pour cette première édition de Hear Palmer, Alain Vacheron (http://alainvacheron.wixsite.com/foto) a réalisé les photos du concert. La sélection est à découvrir sur notre photothèque Pinterest en lien ci-dessous.

fermer

Pour cette première édition de Hear Palmer, Alain Vacheron (http://alainvacheron.wixsite.com/foto) a réalisé les photos du concert. La sélection est à découvrir sur notre photothèque Pinterest en lien ci-dessous.

Hear_Palmer_2009_Jacky_Terrasson
Événements
HEAR PALMER 2009
Par Jacky Terrasson

Pour cette première édition de Hear Palmer, Alain Vacheron (http://alainvacheron.wixsite.com/foto) a réalisé les photos du concert. La sélection est à découvrir sur notre photothèque Pinterest en lien ci-dessous.

fermer

Pour cette première édition de Hear Palmer, Alain Vacheron (http://alainvacheron.wixsite.com/foto) a réalisé les photos du concert. La sélection est à découvrir sur notre photothèque Pinterest en lien ci-dessous.